Is there a way to escape curly braces?  SOLVED

User-to-User discussion about the PhraseExpress macro programming.
Post Reply
MattyG
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 May 20, 14:20

Is there a way to escape curly braces?

Post by MattyG » 26 May 20, 14:03

Hey, I'm trying to get my phrase express to type double curly braces. Unfortunately, this screws up any other macros I may have in that same phrase. It seems that putting back or forward slash before the curly braces like /{/{ stops the macros from getting screwed up, but also still types the slashes. How can I simply type two curly braces without screwing up the macros I have in the phrase?

Technical Support
Posts: 2872
Joined: 10 Feb 06, 22:23

Post by Technical Support » 26 May 20, 14:16

Double curly braces were used for global variables before and must be escaped for compatibility reasons like this:

Code: Select all

\{{test\}}

MattyG
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 May 20, 14:20

Post by MattyG » 27 May 20, 02:20

Just tried that and it doesn't seem to work with only the beginning curly braces. If I just want to escape

Code: Select all

{{
without the closing curly braces, is there a way to do that?

Peter Stotz
PhraseExpress Expert
Posts: 923
Joined: 27 Feb 08, 15:07

Post by Peter Stotz » 27 May 20, 08:32

For which application should this be escaped out?
For some PhraseExpress applications, replacements of
{ with {#ASC 123} and/or
} with {#ASC 125} are helpful ...

Peter
Windows 10 - PhraseExpress v15.0.45-beta

MattyG
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 May 20, 14:20

Post by MattyG » 27 May 20, 15:00

Thanks, that worked! The application is Roam Research.

Post Reply