Get next row down in excel and execute in loop

User-to-User discussion about the PhraseExpress macro programming.
Post Reply
bing098911
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Dec 18, 17:16

Get next row down in excel and execute in loop

Post by bing098911 » 05 Dec 18, 17:22

I have a list of names in a spreadsheet that I have to copy and paste into our accounting software to look up information on them. This has to be done repeatedly for hundreds of employees at a time.
With that said, is it possible to use the get excel row and loop it to grab the next row? I would also need it to pause before moving to the next row as I look at the information. Let me know if any of this is possible or if more information is needed.

Thank you in advance!

Peter Stotz
PhraseExpress Expert
Posts: 810
Joined: 27 Feb 08, 15:07

Post by Peter Stotz » 06 Dec 18, 19:53

Hi bing098911,
this should be possible, because PhraseExpress can emulate all keystrokes:
https://www.phraseexpress.com/docs13/09 ... tekeypress

An example table would be very helpful.
And please use this example to describe your idea of the ideal workflow.

Peter
Windows 10 - PhraseExpress v14.0.98i - Beta

bing098911
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Dec 18, 17:16

Post by bing098911 » 07 Dec 18, 17:28

I guess I didn't think to do a more manual approach of: Switch to excel, press down arrow, CTR+Copy, Switch to other program, CTR+Paste. I was hoping to add this process to a loop, where a counter variable is involved to increase the "get row" each loop. Hopefully that makes more sense. The author's video on automating incremental invoice number creation has gotten me close but I'm not sure how to convert it to my example.

bing098911
Posts: 3
Joined: 05 Dec 18, 17:16

Post by bing098911 » 07 Dec 18, 19:21

Disregard. I figured it out by watching the invoice incremental update video again and applied the same logic to mine just within the get excel cell expression!

Ted
Posts: 2
Joined: 22 Nov 19, 18:28

Post by Ted » 26 Nov 19, 00:55

Could you link to that video? I cannot find it anywhere.

Peter Stotz
PhraseExpress Expert
Posts: 810
Joined: 27 Feb 08, 15:07

Post by Peter Stotz » 27 Nov 19, 21:23

Hi, Ted,
maybe this can help you:
Macro program set '#xlu - Update Excel tables (example): viewtopic.php?f=187&t=16187&sid=2f99fdf ... 6c4319aa96
The example is from the German forum 'Free Extensions' - translate it with the great DeepL translator https://www.deepl.com/translator

Peter
Windows 10 - PhraseExpress v14.0.168

Post Reply